THE MASTERPIECE.

masterpiece.

White lights hit my field of vision and I squinted hard to figure out where I was, I tried my best to flutter my eyes open and yes, to a certain extent, you could say I was successful. The white curtains, the blue sheets on the bed, buttons, machines and drips everywhere, well, wouldn’t need Sherlock to figure out that yes, I was in a hospital. I was covered in blood and the nurse took me to get me cleaned up but when I came out people surrounded me and crowded my personal space, like seriously, why were they ogling at me like that? They were fawning over me, yelling sweet words and cooing ‘aww’ over and over again at every movement I made, it didn’t take me long to realize that my act was about to begin. My birth had taken place. In that very tiny room, that very moment I became a part of everything that was happening around the world and yes, my time to step on the stage for my role in the play named life had begun!

They accepted me, giggled at every act I performed, appreciated every move of mine, played along with me and supported me in every step I took towards the road ahead. As I grew up, I learnt to observe people- their expressions, their capers, their conducts, just about everything in general. Society they formed, that’s what they told and I was starting to understand that. Just when I started opinionating and evaluating my surroundings, somewhere down the line, I overlooked the fact that I am being judged too. It was a vicious cycle-judging and getting judged. When this epiphany settled in, my actual journey began!

It was all so fascinating-the wandering clouds, the shimmering stars, the dawn and the dusk, the unstoppable waves, the running rivers, the mighty mountains, the withering winters, the fruitful summers, the ravishing rains-they added colour to my world! At that moment, each and every thing I noticed held an essence of its own, they had their own little things which in more than one way had a tremendous impact on me. The blend of reality and illusions got me intrigued. Like every moth attracted to the flame, I was in quest of answers that possessed the power to quench my ever-growing thirst for questions.

It was during this phase that I grew as a person. I realized that with every rise, there is a fall! And with the falls I came across, I began to grow agitated. There were times when giving it all up was an option, although the choice that I preferred was heavily influenced by the whimsical tendencies of mine to bring in a change of life. Change is the only constant of life, they said and I lived up to it.I read; read to my heart’s content then I danced; danced to the tunes of the wind, then I sang; sang to the melody of the birds chirping and maybe this is how I learnt to express. I thought everything was under my control but nah,shit just got real ! All along I was maintaining a poker face while stealing glances at the things going on around us, but now the Navarasas managed to steal the spotlight. Happiness, Sorrow,Anger,Courage,Fear,Wonder,Disgust,Beauty and Peace each took equal turns to play their parts without waiting for consent! With so many characters fussing up over me, I failed to realize whether the play was my life or the life was my play ! The standing ovation was what snapped me out of my trance. Looking at my audience, I felt I had done justice to the role. The purpose was served. Winning millions of hearts, I walked off the stage with a heavy heart, little did I know my work here was done!

It was on my deathbed that my life played in reverse and that was when it struck me that the world’s a stage and we are all pulling off a character; a character who’s meant to emote the lines of the script written by the most supreme playwright – the one who’s above all. As I was struggling to contain myself in the present, I felt letting go was the best choice. But what I didn’t apprehend was that there will always be strings attached, that this end was the new beginning; a new beginning to the next play !

Words flow in sync when ideas fall in out of the blue! This was our very first collaboration, looking forward to many more.Hoping for a plethora of masterpieces to come our way! Do check out http://www.outoftheblue9blog.wordpress.com for more!

10 thoughts on “THE MASTERPIECE.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.